The establishment of the Turkish Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry Association, which aims to bring together all researchers under the same roof of Pharmaceutical Chemistry in our country, dates back to 1984.The first studies about the association started with the lead by Prof.Dr. Ningur Noyanalpan, Prof. Dr. Altan Bilgin, Prof. Dr. Nedime Ergenç, Prof. Dr. Aysel Gürsoy and Prof.Dr. Seçkin Özden. In 1990, the charter was prepared as a draft and the first meeting was held on October 27-28, 1990 in Izmir. The studies on the regulation were continued with the determination of the names of the founding members on March 21, 1994 and the application to the Governorship of Ankara on 12 April 1994. On June 10, 1994, “Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry Association” was concluded with the establishment of the certificate of establishment from the governorship. The charter of the association was published in the newspaper on July 3, 1994. In 2003, the name of the association was changed to “Turkish Pharmaceutical and Medical Chemistry Association”.

The founding chairman of the Turkish Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry Association is Prof. Dr. Ningur Noyanalpan. Prof. Dr. Ningur Noyanalpan, was the president of the association between December 1994 and February 1999. Following Prof. Dr. Ningur Noyanalpan; Prof. Dr. Altan Bilgin (1999-2001), Prof. Dr. M. Fethi Şahin (2001-2013), Prof. Dr. Erhan Palaska (2013-2017) served as chairman of the association, respectively. As of June 2017, Prof. Dr. Ayla Balkan took over this position. 

The Turkish Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry Association is a member of the European Federation of Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC). A total of eight international congresses have been organized by the Association until 2018. One of them was European Federation of Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) conferences. The Association also organizes national congresses every two years, in which presentations  of  Master’s and PhD thesis, discussion of issues related to the field of Pharmaceutical Chemistry takes place, besides, members who are retired and made progress are given certificates and plaques.